Travel

Autumn in Seoul – King Sejong and Gyeongbokgung

On our second day in Seoul, following our planned itinerary, with our four layers of clothes and our resolve to wander where the wifi is weak (though wifi is never weak in Seoul) off we go to Gyeongbok Palace for oppa hunting! I mean, sightseeing. LOLs.

img_9849Coming out of Gwanghwamun Station, we’ve got a glimpse of this prominent figure. Sitting at the center of Gwanghawmun Square with a gentle smile on his face and a book in his hand was our first oppanim of the day (Am I even allowed to call him oppa? :D) , the fourth king of the Joseon Dynasty, Sejong the Great! How great is he that he was one of the only two Korean kings that have the word “great” affixed in their names? During his reign, he is known to have fixed the prejudice of classes by helping intelligent but low-class prodigies, He gave slaves and even spouses 100 days off for maternity leave, and, his greatest achievement, he created the Korean alphabet, Hangeul, which is still being used today. Okay, moving on, enough of my history-jabbering-and-tattling, walking further we’ll reach Gyeongbok Palace.

Built in 1395, Gyeongbokgung Palace is also commonly referred to as the Northern Palace, is arguably the most beautiful, and remains the largest of all five palaces. It is designated as South Korea’s Historic Site No.117 on January 21, 1963. Gyeongbok means Shining Happiness. (Source: KTO)

Directions: Gyeongbokgung Palace Station (Seoul Subway Line 3), Exit 5 or 
Gwanghwamun Station (Seoul Subway Line 5), Exit 2

Admission Fee: Included in Integrated Palace Ticket (KRW 10,000)

img_0968
Guards at the main gate – Gwangwhamun
img_8325
This guard looking dapper in his traditional attire.
img_0966
This ajumma is so cute! Thrilled about seeing the palace guards, she’s holding him so tight as if he’s his long lost son and we are not supposed to touch the guards.  LOL
img_8501
Ze sister being side eyed by the place guard.LOL

img_8329img_8340img_0236

img_0815
Bukhansan Mountain as the backdrop.
img_0790
Moi

img_8337

img_0349

img_0247
img_0246

img_0249

img_8360

img_8356
Sophisticated and elaborate designs
img_8368
If you are a fan of Korean historical dramas (I am!) then this one might look familiar. Kyeonghoe-ru, the largest pavilion in South Korea and has been designated as National Treasure #224. I think I saw Park Bo Gum somewhere in there. Haha!

img_0257

img_8367

img_0256

img_8377
I swear, there are divine things more beautiful than words can tell.

img_8388

img_8397
But of course, coffee.

img_0289

img_8402
This attractive hexagonal pavilion surrounded by a lotus pond is called Hyangwon-jeong. This is one of the most painted and photographed places in Korea.

img_8401

img_0278
A closer look
img_0272
Isn’t it beautiful? 🙂
img_0268
So picturesque, I can stare at this all day.
img_0276
Insert heart eyed emojis.
img_0873
Ze sister breathing in the magnificence..
img_0857
Yours truly, with a hairstyle called “i tried”, excitedly sharing on social media.

img_0299img_0885

img_8416

img_0286
Imagine if they have selfie sticks in ancient times.

img_0292

img_0313

img_0314
We’ve passed by this oppa, i mean, trees on our way out.

img_0328

img_0334

img_8464
Always take the scenic route.
img_8469
When you tryna fit in…
img_8598
..but you just can’t. LOL
img_0366
Stone walls that leads to Cheong Wa Dae or the Presidential Residence.
img_0995
We didn’t tried to go as there was an ongoing protests at that time.
img_1127
Our third coffee of the day

I was asked, what makes my blog different from the others? I don’t know how to answer, I don’t have an answer. While writing this latest blog entry, looking at the pictures I realized that I’m not aiming to be different, I just wanted to have a go-to-place to recollect and reminisce about the places I’ve been to (I can’t have all these photos saved on my phone forever. LOL), so that I’ll have a few-clicks-away-happy-pill when I’m down or uninspired. So while reading my own writing I can look back happily and say; I can’t believe I’ve been there, I’ve seen that and I did that. 🙂

All photos were taken by me and my sister Feb using our iPhone 7 and Canon EOS 1000D.

